top of page

Blog

Poke cakes

WHAT ARE THEY?

Whilst I was looking at the latest Coles Magazine on my iPad I came across a feature on poke cakes. Poke cakes? What on earth are they? Were they a Coles invention or have they been around for a long time?

Well, reading the recipes showed me what they are. Basically you poke holes in a cake with the handle of a wooden spoon, so they are quite big holes, and then pour stuff into the holes before baking. The stuff being jam, or a syrup or a fruit purée. Then it seems you add sugar to sugar by putting icing all over the top.

So I guess they are a bit like those Mediterranean syrup cakes which you poke with a fine skewer. For these you poke the cake with a fine skewer and pour syrup over the warm cake. Ditto for the poke cakes but the holes are bigger and I think you cool the cake first.

So is this a new thing? Well the usual bit of web surfing didn't really bring up much, other than that they originated in the southern states of America - which I guess is not really surprising. There's something very American about them - over the top.

And bearing in mind my yesterday's article, you really shouldn't make one, however delectable they might look.

So there you have it - my very brief entry for today. We have the grandchildren so it's a bit difficult.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page