top of page

Blog

Goodby old, hello new

I think today is the day I am going to attempt to make my new site go live. So this is goodbye to the old site - begun on July 15 2016. And I have to say I am surprised at myself for keeping it going.

I have been using Wix's wonderful software for almost four years now completely free. So for a while I have been thinking I should do the right thing and pay them for the privilege. So when they sent me a message saying that I had to change my blog format to their new 'improved' version I decided that this would be the trigger.

And so I have been working my way through all their gorgeous templates - well not all. First I narrowed the hundreds down to about twenty, then to two and have finally decided to go with the version you see above. I did think to stay with the old look and just change the colours and if you think that this is what I should do, please let me know. I can always change the look at any time. But I thought 'new website' so 'new look'. The basic structure is the same though.

However, I shall be changing the url to something more memorable - ramblingrose.me is what I'm aiming for, but I'm not sure yet. I'm also not sure that this can happen straight away, so keep checking this website until I am certain. There will be a big message on the Home page updating you on where you should be going.

I am also hoping that I shall be able to keep this now long running blog on the web. I don't have to delete it, but I do have to change the format of the blog to their new one. Which I shall be working on in the coming weeks. I think April is the deadline.

As to their new format - I'm actually not that impressed at the moment. I don't think I can show the archived posts for example, but it is new and they do respond to users requests, so we shall see. I have to do it, so that's that. Commenting will be much the same though.

Do let me know what you think. It's very early days with it. There could be some teething problems of course. So let me know if something doesn't work.

Here's to the new. May it last at least another four years.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page