top of page

Blog

Wild plum jam done ✓


Well I've made my last batch of wild plum jam for the year, so I feel good. But at the same time I feel frustrated because all along the roads there are literally tons of them going to waste. Why don't people know about them? Sure they are small, but their taste is out of this world - well especially if you like things a little tart. I know I could make crumbles and pies as well, but that would mean taking out the stones which would be very difficult. It's much simpler to make jam. Just cook the fruit until it's all mushy and the stones are detached. And then you do tediously have to go through and fish out the stones, but it's much easier than getting them out of the fruit before cooking. And it's mildly therapeutic in a weird sort of way.

And I guess I could make chutney or liqueur, or plum sauce. Maybe even wine. If I had more time ...

The vintage poster above shows lots of different plum type things - don't know whether there are any like ours. I don't know what variety ours are. There seems to be an American one and an English one, and they also seem to be a late summer fruit over there. Well 'ordinary' plums are here too, but these are an early summer fruit in Australia. Always just before Christmas, when time is running out.

Anyway it's done. I now have a year's supply of jam with a few jars left over for gifts. Besides I've run out of jars.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page