top of page

Blog

A temporary end to dieting


I am fasting today but it's the last day I'm doing this for a while. I know the purists would say that even on holiday you should stick to your diet, but frankly I don't care. I just love french food - a fair selection of which is shown above - pretty typical restaurant fare really, so it would seem insane to me to go to France and not eat their beautiful food for two days a week. We are only there for five weeks after all. And it's a holiday, so a holiday from dieting too.

I have also got to my target weight of 60kg, but am stuck around 61kg. I did get down to 60.5 kg one day but it went up again. It's all a bit dispiriting really because I really eat virtually nothing on my fasting days. So it will be interesting to see the effect of eating every day.

My doctor told me to stay off the carbohydrates - but I don't really see that happening - not with baguettes to eat for breakfast and lunch. I'll try to be a bit sensible. I'm hoping that maybe a rest from the diet will kick-start the weight loss again when I get back and I might power all the way down to my target 60kg. Last time we went away and I didn't diet I only put on a couple of kilos and they came off again pretty quickly. I tend to do a bit more exercise on holiday too - all that walking up and down hills and around dozens of pretty villages. There are even some bikes in some of the houses - I could see if I can still ride a bike. I haven't ridden one since I was a teenager, and there weren't gears then.

So here's to good food and good wine - well the wine will probably be no better than our excellent Australian wine, because we basically can't afford the good French stuff. It's getting better over there though in the south. The trouble is we don't really know what to buy. The food will be good though.

So bon appétit to me. I will try and keep this blog going whilst away. There should be lots to write about.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page