top of page

Blog

How can aeroplane breakfasts compete?


This was my breakfast on my Emirates flight coming into Dubai. Scrambled eggs with baked beans and kefta with spinach - sort of two meals in one dish really, plus an awful roll, some yoghurt and some fruit salad. Interestingly the jam was Beerenberg which is a better commercial jam than most. Sure we were only travelling economy but apparently the first class food is reheated too. And the kefta were actually quite tasty but chewy. But then I guess it must be a major task to produce something appetising. Or is it? Could they do better? I'm tempted to say that some airlines food is better than others, but I suspect that most airline food comes out of the same kitchens at whatever airport the plane is at. Mind you Qantas used to give you a Magnum as dessert and a rather good little snack pack for late at night. Don't think they do anymore. The Magnums were great. I mean you can't really spoil them can you?

On the plus side Emirates are not fussed about plastic cutlery - they have metal cutlery which is much nicer.

But here in our hotel, breakfast is a feast. I think I had three visits to the buffet - but having consumed the rather revolting airline breakfast I didn't really blow out. I might do better tomorrow. Here are two of my plates:

The first featured felafel - I restricted myself to one, and the most delicious hummus with some smoked salmon, tomato, rocket and carrot. Then there was bread and jam accompanied by apricot and cranberry conserves, The bread is obviously baked here and is delicious as are their pastries and croissants. I finished up with some fruit salad. They have everything you can imagine - though I still don't think it's as good as the first hotel we staying in here in Dubai - the Hyatt Regency. But I'm not complaining and am looking forward to more tomorrow! Not to mention our own home breakfasts in France - with real French bread, croissants and jam,

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page