top of page

Blog

The dilemma of a box of lemons


My neighbour is radically pruning his prolific lemon tree because it is being attacked by the wasp pest that gets to lemon trees, and he sent out a message to all his neighbours to collect some of the discarded lemons. There are dozens and dozens of them and if not collected they will be thrown out. So my 'waste not want not' brain clicked into action and I got myself a box of lemons. Yes some of them look a bit spotty and unattractive, but past experience has taught me that this has no effect on the lemon inside, and so I have a mix of good and bad lookers.

Now I already have a heap of lemons in my fridge - a combination of bought (when I thought I had none) some from another friend, and some I picked up from the wayside on one of my walks (there was a box with a notice to please take some - so I did, being a bit low on lemons at the time). I can always use lemons - no decent fridge should be without any. (And indeed I found an article that tested out various ways of storing them - and this was the best.) They keep for a long time in there. But now I have far too many and not enough room in the fridge to store them. Besides there is a limit to how long they will stay useable even in the fridge. So what to do with them?

My first thought was marmalade - and this is probably what I shall do with the bulk of them. Though the spottier ones might have to have their peel removed and discarded for this exercise. But should I mix them with some oranges perhaps? Or honey - I saw one recipe for a lemon marmalade with honey instead of some of the sugar. Might be interesting, might not. I also saw one recipe that took a different approach to my usual time-consuming one. I usually peel the zest and slice it, remove the pith and chop up the lemon flesh. The peel is cooked with water in a pan until tender. The flesh is cooked separately with some water and when soft I tediously remove the pips by hand. The peel and flesh are then combined, sugar added, boiled until setting point and poured into sterilised jars. The recipe I saw, had you boil the lemons whole until tender, cut in half, remove the pips into a muslin bag, then slice peel and flesh together as thick or as thin as you please. Add pips, sugar, etc. I might try this, this time. Sounds promising. I really am not sure that my lovely husband will like lemon marmalade though. But I guess I can always give it away for gifts. And you can use it in all sorts of recipes too. It becomes an ingredient in its own right.

There are preserved lemons of course. Very quick and easy and absolutely delicious. But I already have several jars and I don't use them as often as I should. I have given some to my family but I don't think they use them, so I don't think I shall do that this time. Besides, again those skins are really not up to it.

Limoncello though - now that is a very good idea - though it will only be good for the very best skinned ones. However, only eight lemons are required. I did make some before and it was delicious, and it is now almost gone. If I make some now it will be ready for Christmas. Yes I shall definitely do that - though I have to buy some vodka first. Also very quick and easy. In Italy they often served it in country restaurants at the end of the meal as a delightfully unexpected freebie at the end of the meal. And if you don't want to drink it neat, then you can use it in all sorts of recipes.

And while we are still on drinks - what about lemonade and lemon cordial? Well they don't keep that long and it's not summer and it's not that attractive an idea really. Not at the moment anyway. And neither is lemon curd, because that also does not keep very long and we don't make lemon meringue pies (I can't do meringues), and we don't eat it really. Which is strange because I did eat it as a child.

"There are only so many people who will welcome a jar of your carefully stirred homemade chutney." Nigel Slater

He is so right. And even if I put it out at those elusive dinner parties, not a lot of it is consumed. Mind you it can make an intriguing addition to a marinade or a sauce, so maybe I should try a chutney - or an Indian style pickle. Nigel Slater says he doesn't make it in huge quantities any more - just small batches. So that's something to consider. There are lots of recipes out there for such things and they are really easy to make. I saw one lemon and date chutney which sounded good.

I have now run out of ideas as I am not into cleaning and health products that can be made from lemons. Obviously there are lots and lots of dishes and cakes and things that I can make, but they will only take a lemon or two and I have a box full! I shall keep a few for cooking with and the rest - well definitely limoncello. I was rather impressed with the last batch - so I shall buy a bottle of vodka tomorrow. And then probably marmalade or maybe chutney - or some of both. Be warned - you may be getting gifts before long.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page