top of page

Blog

Yoyos or melting moments?


This is a quickie born from a lucky dip I made a week or so ago but did not follow up. This was because I was not excited by it and so I thought of something else anyway. I'm still not that excited, and I don't think there is a lot to tell but I shall do my best.

it came from a book I do not even remember buying! It's spiral bound but glossy so I'm guessing I might have bought it from Aldi when my grandchildren were pretty young and I was wondering what I would cook with them. And I don't think I ever did. Cook anything that is - which is very poor of me. It's a sort of irony isn't it, that the things we first cook with our children are all bad for them - cookies, cakes, sweet things? I guess this is because no knives are generally involved and it's good fun doing the mixing and shaping, not to mention that sweet things are always liked. But it's wrong isn't it? We ought to be teaching them from an early age how to cook healthy things. Not things loaded with sugar, fat and starch - the baddies of the kitchen.

But back to yo-yos. The first confusion is yo-yos or melting moments? To my mind they are the same thing but named differently. It seems that the melting moments came first - from New Zealand where they were made with cornflour whilst yo-yos are from Australia - specifically Adelaide and made from custard powder - which, according to one website, is just cornflour coloured yellow. So where is the difference in that? Do I remember them in England at all? Well I'm not really sure but I think the Australasians would say no I couldn't.

They were first made in Adelaide back at the end of the nineteenth century in Wakefield St. by Menz and Co. Originally German immigrants, it became a well-known family business. Nowadays they are mostly made by Arnotts I believe.

And that's that really. I don't have much to say about them. I don't like them all that much. They do indeed melt in the mouth - but I don't find that very satisfactory. They're a bit powdery somehow. But maybe I'm offending the Australians here.

No time today - hence the lucky dip!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page