top of page

Blog

So much seafood


My husband doesn't like seafood, by which I mean shellfish and squid, octopus and cuttlefish. I'm with him on the squid, etc. but I do quite like some shellfish. Anyway this is proving to be the main thing thwarting us from a good meal out in Port Douglas. Well so far anyway.

You would not believe how many seafood restaurants there are, which I guess is fair enough. We are on the far North Queensland coast after all. But it's not just the restaurants that advertise themselves as seafood restaurants, it's virtually all of the others as well. It makes me understand a little the frustration of vegetarians in times gone by. They by the way are well catered for here. Port Douglas is a bit hippie - well it was - and so there are vegetarians and vegans galore, and quite a few restaurants catering to them as a result. I remember holidaying in Italy with some vegetarian friends who became increasingly frustrated at the lack of vegetarian options - usually just a mushroom or Margherita pizza or a pasta Napoli. It was actually quite surprising. I suspect that these days in Australia there are almost always some interesting vegetarian options on a restaurant menu. Maybe not many, but at least one, and taste tempting too.

Well here in Port Douglas, it's a bit the same for non seafood eaters. If you don't eat seafood, you can be pushed to find much other than a steak or a spaghetti bolognaise, or a pizza. For example there is one Italian restaurant which really only has a couple of meat options in its mains section which is very expensive. Both the starters and pasta sections are virtually all seafood - I think there was a tomato salad, and a pasta puttanesca - but that features anchovies - not much loved by those who don't like seafood.

My husband does eat fish, but it's not a favourite, and besides, even the fish is not as common as the seafood.

Most Australians, of course, are in seventh heaven over this. 'Throw a shrimp on the barbie' and all of that, including the increasingly common seafood feast at Christmas. I know I have accused my husband of being picky in the past, but in this instance I do sympathise. I mean there just aren't any other tempting options. And I have to say that by its very nature you should not really cook seafood a lot, and so most of the dishes that feature seafood, are basically very, very simple. To the point of them merely being prepared as much as needs be - I don't think you can eat raw prawns - and then piled on to a platter like the one at the top of the page.

So tonight we are trying the yacht club - which sounds fishy - well watery anyway, but actually is sort of pub food and features burgers, and chicken parma. As well as seafood of course. We've been there before. I remember it for the setting not for the food. I do hope it's OK. And we'll have another trawl around Port Douglas - the end we didn't check out the other day, to see if we can find anything for our other nights.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page