top of page

Blog

What to do with all that chocolate?


These are our 'official' leftovers, well not the Toblerone, from our grand Easter egg hunt yesterday.

After the hunt, our lovely grandchildren pool all the eggs that are found and share them out equally. What is in the bowl is the eggs for the poor children - it was their idea a few years ago. I was also asked to hide the eggs for the poor children by one of the grandchildren so that my husband wouldn't eat them all. It's all very touching.

But. Number one - there are a lot of eggs in there. So I can only imagine that the children had even more, unless they were really generous and the poor children were an equal part of the sharing exercise. It's our fault I guess. We wanted them to have a lot of fun hunting for the eggs, and they did. But to achieve this you've got to have a lot of eggs and you have to hide at least some of them very well. Of course if you also have a four year old hunting, some of them have to be easy to find too. Mind you he was no mean hunter. I think at one point he had found more than the rest of them put together. So I guess the number one thing here is that we have provided evil things - chocolate - to our grandchildren.

However, I am not too uneasy about this. They made sure that there were equal numbers for all, and anyway I don't think a little bit of chocolate does anyone any harm. It would be interesting to know who eats them all at once and who saves them. I remember our two children being very different in their approach to this, which did actually cause some trouble now and then. But not a lot. Perhaps you learn something about your children through this.

Number two. How do I get the eggs for the poor children to actual poor children? For, of course, I don't know any. I had sort of hoped that the supermarkets would have some kind of collection thing going - like they do at Christmas. But no. I have looked online but have found nothing. If I was a churchgoer I could maybe do something through the church. Hand them out to the homeless?

Even without the eggs for the poor children we now have a lot of chocolate. My one or two days fasting per week seems not to be doing much for me of late, and so I am reluctant to get tucked into it all. Although I expect I shall - particularly the Toblerone which is very moreish. There are lots of ideas in terms of cooking of course, which basically involve melting them all down and making something else chocolatey. Which doesn't really achieve anything at all.

So give me your ideas people.

At least the grandchildren had a lot of fun. And that was the important thing.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page