top of page

Blog

Easy to throw a big lunch party


Today I felt blessed several times.

First thing was that it was the film society kids' film of the year when we get to take all our grandkids to a film - Paddington 2 this year - a delight in itself. And their fathers came too. It's a big family outing thing for everyone who is there. And after the film they all came home to us for lunch. Which I hadn't planned for.

So son number two was despatched to Coles on the way home to buy some of their beautiful baguettes from Laurent and some extra ham and salami. Meanwhile son number one, his partner and I raided the fridge for cheese, and whatever cold meats we had - which included the remains of last night's slow roast lamb. Then there were baby tomatoes, home-made pickles, gherkins, some leftover quince paste, mustard, croissants and chocolate croissants leftover from breakfast, and some avocado son number 1 had brought for his breakfast this morning (he had stayed overnight) and some strawberries. I think that was it. By the time we had it all on my various plates and wooden boards, son number two arrived with ham and some more salami - and the bread. And hey presto an absolutely delectable feast. And I forgot that I had olives and smoked salmon too.

I felt blessed that I live in the times that I do, that I have sufficient money to buy these things from my local supermarket - for not huge amounts of money in fact. And there we have a most wonderful feast. If I had thought a bit more I could have also made a green salad, or boiled some eggs, which would have made it rather more healthy. For I guess it's not a particularly healthy meal - all of those preserved meats I suppose are not good and if you just ate like this all the time it would not be a balanced diet, but it was really not that bad either. And so many things to choose from the supermarket.

But of course, the main blessing was that we were eating with the family - just the two mothers were missing - enjoying a day off I hope. Yes it was noisy, and yes it was messy - briefly, and a lot of cutlery and crockery was used. But such fun. And they had such a good time that they stayed on for the entire afternoon. A truly wonderful day.

And none of it planned. Aren't we lucky we have such good supermarkets? Aren't we lucky we have fridges? But most of all aren't we lucky we have such wonderful children and grandchildren?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page