top of page

Blog

Hot, hot, hot


Admittedly tomorrow is the really hot day - and I won't be here because of that, but today is pretty hot too - almost 40. Which would be just tolerable as our house is relatively cool, but today is the annual film society end of year party for the committee. And it's here.

Ever since I saw the long-range forecast for today I have been dithering about what to do. Should I postpone, should I cancel, should I go ahead anyway? And it has to be said that I have not been helped by the widely varying predictions from the various weather sites. Honestly you would think they all got their information from the same place would you not?

So I was on the brink of postponing and then the predicted temperature reduced to more or less tolerable so I hung in there. So of course it went up. Currently we are going ahead though a couple of people have dropped out, and there is definitely no barbecue - we abandoned that idea days ago. And mostly people are coming later than originally planned.

Increasingly I guess this is going to be an ordinary summer problem. This year already we have had at least three - maybe four or five days over 40, so who knows what will be coming in late January and February. Global warming certainly seems to be happening here.

Which is a conundrum for summer entertaining. Summer is supposed to be holiday time. Party time. Time to catch up with friends and family. I suppose if it's small groups then you can retreat indoors where you might be lucky enough to have air conditioning. But it seems a shame doesn't it? Is this the end of the summer barbecue and picnics on the beach? Who would want to be on the beach - there is no shelter there, even if the water is cool?

Oh well crossing fingers.

Tags:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page