top of page

Blog

Afternoon coffee with the book group ladies


My book groups are in abeyance at the moment and so one of the members of my local book group organised a get together in one of our many local cafés - Miss Pryor - which is relatively new. We all sat at the round table shown in the foreground of the picture above. As you can see it is a very pleasant and very 'of the moment' place.

I think there were ten or eleven of us. We gathered at 2.15 and did not depart until closing time at 4.00. I think one person may have had something to eat, the rest of us just had a drink. At the same time there were maybe three other smaller tables of people there - also there for a long time. One of the tables was one guy working on his laptop.

Which made me wonder how on earth such places survive. I think my iced coffee was $7.00 and it was very nice. A bit more dessert like than a coffee but it was very hot outside at the time - almost 40 degrees I believe. As an aside this is hard to remember as, at the moment, it is pouring with rain and the temperature has dropped right down to the low twenties.

I had intended to have some cake as well, but on surveying the offerings I was not tempted - some rather large cookies - I'm not a fan of cookies and a couple of rather unappetising Danish pastry kind of things. Surely, I thought, a place like this would have delicious cakes on offer to tempt us all to buying things we shouldn't eat. I would then have spent probably well over $10.00. And I know that others would have too.

Anyway doing rough sums they can only have had an income of maybe almost $200 for two hours. And I think that is probably generous. This is really not enough to sustain a business I would have thought.

Now admittedly this was the afternoon, and for all I know they have a big breakfast and lunch crowd plus some in between coffee and cake people. But still ...

It must actually be difficult for them. I mean how do you make people move on so that others can take their place? Although there was plenty of space available anyway. Now I know it is the time of year that a lot of people are away on holiday. Lots of restaurants close down in January.

I do wish them well - the service was really good, the iced coffee just lovely - but they really have to improve the cake offering. There's a lot of competition out there. You've got to differentiate yourself somehow. Now the gelateria that has opened on the Main Street is doing a roaring trade. Whether they will in the winter is another question.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page